Caroline Kemp's Profile

Caroline Kemp's picture

My Gender

Third Gender

A Little about Me

I am currently working as an energy advisor. When I get some holidays I'd like to spend them volunteering and learning new skills!

Additional Photos

Skills I would like to Work on or Share.

I can play guitar, mandolin and harmonica, carve wood and have just started basketmaking. I like working with wood and have basic carpentry skills. I have knowledge of energy efficiency and (non technical) knowledge of domestic renewable energy systems, and the grants and loans available in the UK for energy efficiency and micro-renewables. I would like to develop my knowledge of sustainable building and design, and also need to improve my french!

My Life Philosophy

I am the kind of person who likes to just get things sorted, rather than worry about them. I think we need to get off our arses and sort out the planet, NOW. I can't understand how people can ignore the world's environmental problems when it's their own children who will suffer for it.
I have no practical experience in sustainable bulding

My Building Qualifications

I work as an energy advisor and have a City and Guilds in Energy Awareness (does this count?)!

My Occupation

Formal - Energy Advisor Informal - Gardener, musician and wood carver

What I Read, Watch, and Listen to

The Dharma Bums by Jack Kerouac.

Building Styles I'm Interested in

Rammed Earth
Earthship/used tires
Straw Bale
Adobe/Mud Bricks
Reclaimed Materials
Local Materials (ie Sustainable Wood)
Stone/Flint walls
Roundwood timber framing

My Education

Studied Sustainable Development and Environmental Management, have also done a Permaculture Design Course.

My Eating Habits

A vegetarian who tries to be as dairy-free as possible. I eat eggs and honey. I reckon I'm not bad at cooking mexican and spanish food!