Robert Jenkins's Profile

Robert Jenkins's picture

My Gender


A Little about Me

At the moment I'm working from home and in the middle of renovating our Victorian terrace house. I enjoy growing stuff in the garden, walking the dogs (2 rescue greyhounds), hanging out with my wife and various outdoor activities. We would love to build our own house one day - probably out of straw...

Additional Photos

Why I Build Sustainably

With so many people on Earth and dwindling resources, it's the only way forward...

Skills I would like to Work on or Share.

I have a good range of building and DIY skills from plumbing and electrics (no qualifications though!) to carpentry and plastering (still working on flatness!).

My Life Philosophy

Try to make every day count...

Building Styles I have Experience in

Straw Bale
I've researched straw bale extensively and recently been on a course with Barbara Jones of Straw Works.

My Building Qualifications

Graduate Architectural Technologist (working towards chartered status)

My Occupation

I am a self employed Architectural Technologist. Previous careers include school teacher, police officer and kitchen manufacture/fitting (family business).

What I Read, Watch, and Listen to

Various books, especially true stories of adventure / exploration such as 'Endurance' - Shackleton's Antarctic expedition. Listen to all sorts of music and enjoy cinema / film.

Building Styles I'm Interested in

Rammed Earth
Earthship/used tires
Straw Bale
Adobe/Mud Bricks
Reclaimed Materials
Local Materials (ie Sustainable Wood)
I'm interested in learning about all these building styles so I can udertand their pros and cons better.

My Education

I have a couple of degrees, the most recent in Architectural Technology.

My Eating Habits

I like all food except aubergines - and I try them every few years just to check!