April Leasa's Profile

April Leasa's picture

My Gender

Female

A Little about Me

Im very interested in building my own Cob or Strawbale house and being as self sufficient as possible. I'm on my way to my first Cob workshop this summer 2016. Update: The Cob workshop did not go well. The builder was a professional builder following code. This is totally not what I was looking for. YES, I do want to build my own house with my own two hands without a permit. How to go about this is THE hardest part. Any info would be greatly appreciated! I've been looking into New Mexico, Colorado, Kentucky, Maine, Tennessee.

Additional Photos

My Friends

Why I Build Sustainably

From the time I was very little I've loved creating things, scavenging, growing, etc. Through the years growing up I had this voice in my head or feeling that I couldn't quite understand why people couldn't see the problems with excessive consumerism, excessive waste, television, the school system that teaches all this....Of course when I was very young I didn't know what it was called. I just knew something didn't seem right and I didn't want any part of it. Eventually I had to "fit in" but I've always carried this around with me still calling me. It IS a calling! And now I'm going to listen.

Skills I would like to Work on or Share.

I do a lot of crafty handy work. I know the art of scavenging, upcycling, being resourceful, making it instead of buying it. I want to develop my building skills and knowledge of permaculture.

My Life Philosophy

It's never too late to start over. Follow your heart whisperings.

What I Read, Watch, and Listen to

Coming soon

Building Styles I'm Interested in

Cob
Earthship/used tires
Straw Bale
Adobe/Mud Bricks
Reclaimed Materials
Stone/Flint walls
Mostly Cob because it seems the most versatile and artistic and speaks to me the most. But of course my vulture/scavenger nature will most definitely be using reclaimed materials everywhere I can within the Cob. Update: I've decided to go with Strawbale now as it will go up quicker. Then maybe add-on Cob additions later.

My Education

Some college

My Eating Habits

Omnivore
I do eat meat but I try to only eat meat that was raised with plenty of good vibes although this is not always affordable. My favorite foods are Indian, Thai, and just plain ole from the garden veggies and herbs. I like to forage for wild food. I love eggs and beside many different chicken eggs I've also tried Duck and Turkey. I'm always looking for new herbs and spices to try.