Emma Hansen's Profile

Emma Hansen's picture

My Gender

Female

A Little about Me

I'm building an Earthship for me and my family to live in. My kids are 11, 9 and 5 years old. I started to build half the earthship, about 80 square meters, and it will be ready for move in at summer 2017. (Hopefully!!!) After that, the addition with three "U:s" will be built, along with a rootcellar, a chicken house and lots of landscaping. You can see more Pictures on Instagram #earthshiphällekil or on Facebook: Earthship Hällekil

Additional Photos

, ,

My Build Projects

The Earthship is coming along nicely, and the first part is now missing bathroom and running water. Also the exterior greenhouse is not finished yet. The build of these things start in february-18, and will go on during the year. If it's...
This is an earthship! It is located in the magical Forests of Wermland, Sweden.* The house is near finish inside, and during the summer we will build the exterior greenhouse.
The first part of our Earthship is quite close to finish! We are working on the final touches, like wall plastering, indoor water system, kitchen and bathroom, and lots of glass bottle-wall fixing. When this part is all done, we will start with...
We are building an earthship as our family home. It is located on a hillside, not far from the river. The forest surrounds us.
Our earthship has a roof and four walls, but nothing finish in the inside.

Why I Build Sustainably

Because we wish to live our lifes slower, and work with passion and not because we are forced to - due to high rent and bills. We also wish to make our footprints on earth as small as possible, and hopefully inspire a few people along the way.

Building Styles I have Experience in

Cob
Earthship/used tires
Reclaimed Materials
Stone/Flint walls

Building Styles I'm Interested in

Cob
Earthship/used tires
Reclaimed Materials
Local Materials (ie Sustainable Wood)
Stone/Flint walls

My Education

Experience of LIFE, learning by doing... I am a rehab therapeut, I work with drug addicts, criminals and people with neuro psychiatric or other social disabilities. Or, that is my higher education.

My Eating Habits

Omnivore
We eat "everything" but the little girls have some allergies, and we prefer a bit healthier lifestyle. Vegetarian food a lot. We produce our own meat,eggs, and some veggies now, and hopefully next year we can produce all our veggies, fruit, berries, and more.