Evie James's Profile

Evie James's picture

My Gender

Female

A Little about Me

I'm a easy going, approachable individual currently out in South Africa. A few weeks after I finished University I flew out to China to teach Windsurfing. Ever since I can remember I have wanted to explore and travel, this option allowed me to introduce a sport I love to a nation where it is not popular (or even heard of!) whilst experiencing a completely different culture and way of life. After spending 6 months in China working and travelling I met many people, I want to continue moving around the world, getting to know and helping the local people.

Additional Photos

, ,

Why I Build Sustainably

Sustainability is the only way for the future for both us humans and the natural world, after spending 6 months in China in a nation where sustainability is not high up on there agenda you can see the affects this has on their own country; pollution being one of these. Seeing this has inspired me to do everything I can to promote sustainability to help future generations and to conserve the limited natural resources we have left.

Skills I would like to Work on or Share.

Full clean driving license RYA windsurf instructor Powerboat Certificate I love playing Guitar; always keen for a jam, teaching others and learning new things. Use to play lots of Piano and read music but need to refresh these skills as it has been a while! Really want to develop my cooking skills. Enjoy photography and thinking creatively.

My Life Philosophy

You shouldn't feel guilty or take the worlds problems on your shoulders but you can do anything you are capable of to help and spread happiness to those who cross your path.

Building Styles I have Experience in

Straw Bale
Local Materials (ie Sustainable Wood)
Stone/Flint walls
We use to live on a farm in Devon, where I watched and helped my Granddad build brick walls. We made chicken coops, tree houses, pig pens and big dens, using recycled materials and things we found in the wild. On my travels to Mongolia locals explained to us how they made there Gers and designed them especially so they could move wherever and whenever they needed to. In school we learnt how to Wattle and Daub.

My Occupation

Windsurf instructor

What I Read, Watch, and Listen to

Use to read lots and lots as a kid, then didn't pick up a book for a few years until I was in China, suddenly I was living in an environment where I couldn't understand or talk to anyone, I like non fiction stories. Love something about every bit of music I hear. Listen to lots of different genres, mostly acoustic (Red Hot Chili's) and would love to produce my own beats once I have the correct equipment.

Building Styles I'm Interested in

Cob
Rammed Earth
Earthship/used tires
Straw Bale
Adobe/Mud Bricks
Reclaimed Materials
Local Materials (ie Sustainable Wood)
Thatched
Stone/Flint walls

My Education

2007-2012 St Peters School, Guildford, England 8 GCSE's Grade A (including Maths, Science, English and Geography) 2 GCSE's Grade B 2012-2014 Godalming College, England Photography A level - Grade A Graphics A level - Grade B Philosophy AS level - Grade C Geography AS level - Grade D 2014-2015 Bournemouth Arts University, England Art and Design Foundation - Grade Merit