Hana Sofia's Profile

Hana Sofia's picture

My Gender

Female

A Little about Me

I love the simple life. At my happiest, most honest and true state you will find me atop a mountain somewhere, reading Walt Whitman on a river bank, or making music with friends. Cooking is another passion, especially with local and environmentally conscious ingredients. My goals include traveling as much as possible throughout my life, finding a career or job in social work where I can work with families and be satisfied by the work I am doing 40 hours per week. It doesn't have to pay well, just enough to afford a simple and happy lifestyle. What can I say, I'm 24... I don't know what I'm doing with my life! And at this point, I like it that way.

Additional Photos

Why I Build Sustainably

Sustainability is not only of interest to me, but in my opinion is really the only option our planet has for moving forward in a progressive and healthy way as a society. I would love to learn how to build sustainably because it is sure to be an incredibly valuable skill, and I would love to feel more capable when it comes to taking charge of my life in sustainable ways!

Skills I would like to Work on or Share.

I would love to learn how to BUILD sustainably!! I am a creative person on all accounts, and am always open to learning more about myself and the world.

My Life Philosophy

"Nature is ever at work building and pulling down, creating and destroying, keeping everything whirling and flowing, allowing no rest but in rhythmical motion, chasing everything in endless song out of one beautiful form into another." -John Muir "We don't see things as they are, we see them as we are." -Anais Nin Life is always changing, and along with it go I. The beauty of this world is the adventure inherent in our time here. I say, seize the day! Allow yourself to change, question reality, and most importantly-- love openly and completely along the way.

My Occupation

I suppose the formal would be Social Worker. But I prefer the informal most days... and would call myself an adventure seeking nature loving musician with a taste for honest souls and intentional living.

Building Styles I'm Interested in

Cob
Rammed Earth
Earthship/used tires
Straw Bale
Adobe/Mud Bricks
Reclaimed Materials
Local Materials (ie Sustainable Wood)
Thatched
Stone/Flint walls
Some beautiful souls I had the pleasure of spending a summer living in the woods with introduced me to Earthships and the concept of sustainable building. They are some of the most inspiring people I know, and are entirely credited with my interest in these building styles.

My Education

I graduated from Willamette University in 2010 with a bachelors of arts degree in Sociology. While my formal education has served me in countless ways, I suspect most of the education I received in those 4 years came from living in Vienna, Austria for 6 months, trips to the beach, countless hikes throughout Oregon, and forming friendships full of love that will last my lifetime.

My Eating Habits

Omnivore
I like to eat healthy, sustainable, local food! I do not think eliminating things completely from your diet is the answer to "how to be healthy". I think life (and diet) is all about balance. I like to eat meat about 2-3 days per week. When I do eat meat, I like to know that it came from a local farm and was raised outside of a chicken sized cage and with no chemicals. It's pretty simple! I love cooking anything and everything. Experimenting in the kitchen is a huge passion of mine! I also grew up with a father who loved to bake, and enjoy baking breads and other treats.