Mark Hall's Profile

Mark Hall's picture

My Gender

Male

A Little about Me

Im currently travelling in Peru & am looking to donate my time to worthwhile projects while learning new skills.Origianlly from the Uk my first language is English though I speak some Spanish. I would describe myself as an honest trustworthy individual with a strong work ethic.

Additional Photos

Why I Build Sustainably

Im looking at building my own cob house when i get back to the uk, I wish to learn "on the job" as it suits my particular learning style.

Skills I would like to Work on or Share.

As a gardener I enjoy being outside, I have constructed formal gardens & have some building skills using modern building materials. I would like to learn how to build earth houses & associated projects.

My Life Philosophy

Live in the moment & share the joy of being alive.

My Occupation

I am a gardener in the UK. I have also worked in Adult education, tourism and as a chef.

What I Read, Watch, and Listen to

Books, I love books but there are too many to name. Music, I listen to whatever is going around at the time. Movies, like comedy & action films.

Building Styles I'm Interested in

Cob
Straw Bale
Adobe/Mud Bricks
Local Materials (ie Sustainable Wood)
Thatched
Stone/Flint walls
I have a lovely three bedroom terranced house built in the victorian period in the UK. I am always amazed at how much better the build quality is compared with modern housing created these days. I am also very environmentally minded and disagree with transporting materials across distances due to cost of materials for the builder without considering the larger picture of environmental damage.

My Education

High school: College studying History, catering,counselling therapy & finally Horticulture.

My Eating Habits

Omnivore
I love food Mexican in particular.