naveen godiyal's Profile

naveen godiyal's picture

My Gender

Male

A Little about Me

Hi I am Naveen. I run volunteering projects in the Himalayas. Currently we run a teach English volunteer program(www.helpinhimalayas.info) One of our objective is to promote already existent sustainable buildings to create sustainable income generation opportunities for the local people.

Additional Photos

, ,

My Build Projects

Our initiative is to promote rural tourism for employment generation in the region of Yamunotri which lies in Garhwal region. Our place has abundance of locally build sustainable structures which has been into existence for 100 of years. Considering...

Why I Build Sustainably

Present day construction techniques and implemention is monotonous and hazardous for the environment, the only answer lies in sustainable building. There is a need for a revolution where we can bring more people adhering to its principal of sustainable living. Won't it be nice if we could exist peacefully and happily with the nature without destroying it.

Skills I would like to Work on or Share.

English communication skills, humane skills:)

My Life Philosophy

Life is how we make it ! Life is full of good things( for most of us it isn't) but again its all mindset. isn't it ?

Building Styles I have Experience in

Stone/Flint walls
Na
Na

My Building Qualifications

Na

My Occupation

Project developer/ co ordinator

What I Read, Watch, and Listen to

Francesc Zamora, 150 Best sustainable house ideas

My Website

Building Styles I'm Interested in

Cob
Rammed Earth
Earthship/used tires
Straw Bale
Adobe/Mud Bricks
Reclaimed Materials
Local Materials (ie Sustainable Wood)
Thatched
Stone/Flint walls
Gives a sense of interconnection between us and mother earth which you can't find in modern day architecture. Also these styles are testimonials to great architectural knowledge, technique and know how our ancestors had. Above all It always feel more homely, peaceful and a sense of interconnectedness. The most important thing is that we want to just make little adjustments in already existent buildings which are 100 of years old to promote it for sustainable tourism.

My Education

Graduation( economics, English literature and sociology). This is my college education but I personally feel that in my life these bookish degress have less to do with what I feel is useful in the society.

My Eating Habits

Vegetarian
We are vegetarian in nature and like plant based diet as it comes into the category of Saatvik food. There are thousands of vegetarian dishes which are so great to plate on.